Poems

in my dreams

i.
drown me in the brown
of your irises and eyes
love is dirt is growth

ii.
drown me in the green of the gorgeous earth
because in my dreams, i’m an astronaut
floating in outer space, the earth is my sunrise
and the moon surrounds me with her grace
and i live among the stars and rocks
and you don’t know the lives i lead

iii.
drown me in the blue of the ocean
because in my dreams, i’m a thousand
different things, surfing the waves and
kayaking and drowning in salty seawater
struggling to stay ahead in my head

iv.
drown me in the brown of coffee waves
swirls of cream and spirilling cocoa
because in this life i’m a barista
and i pour you the perfect cup, offer you
my free advice. inhale the coffee
and i know my mood and energy stay afloat

v.
drown me in the lilac of the lavender fields
i’m farming away my troubles on lucious land
because in my dreams, i own some cattle
and no one drives down this deserted path
country life maybe isn’t so bad

vi.
drown me in the brown
of your irises and eyes
love is dirt is growth

Happy Earth Day!

~ PatBunny

Leave a comment